You're reading a post...
Campaign for Change, Implants - Regulation of Medical Devices, News & Updates

Scotland’s Sunday Mail: Scottish women may be able to sue NHS

In the latest article by Marion Scott of the Sunday Mail, lawyer Cameron Fyfe, who is representing 300 women suffering complications, argues that every woman in Scotland given a mesh implant can now sue the NHS even if they have not suffered complications.

A law which was devised to  compensate workers exposed to asbestos, but who have not yet shown evidence of lung disease, is to be employed to protect mesh victims.

Cameron Fyfe states that there is now so much evidence to show the dreadful damage which can be caused by mesh that every woman who has undergone mesh surgery can potentially take legal action against manufacturers and the NHS.  These complications sometimes take years to fully emerge and so every woman who has had a mesh implant will be distressed that these injuries may happen to them and thus may have a claim.

Campaigners are calling for the use of these meshes to be suspended.

Read the full article here:

Mesh implant bombshell for health service as leading lawyer claims every woman in Scotland given op can sue NHS

Read previous Sunday Mail articles on mesh surgery:

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Scotland’s Sunday Mail: Scottish women may be able to sue NHS

  1. I had a tvt procedure in 2002. After a few months the weird symptoms appeared. Since then iv had numerous investigations but non have had answers. In 2003i ended up in hospital a total of 15 taken by ambulance on oxygen with chest pain and high pulse rate only to be given paracetamol and sent home. That same year I had 12courses of antibiotics some 5day, others 14, also 6month course of low doze trimethoprim all of which worked because on the antibiotic after a few days I felt great but within days of finishing them I was ill again.

    I then went to a herbalist who over the years has kept me both sane and able to at least have some kind of life. The symptoms are at first we’re fast heart, high pulse rate. Constantly feeling /being sick.pain in groin and down left leg I can make a trail from groin to big toe and up left side of my body up vein across into right side of my head, I have pain burning and jaggy itch down below. Iv now been diagnosed with a lung disease and sjorgrens syndrome in 2010.

    My GP would tell me one thing at a time or my symptoms were not connected, when I ask ‘not connected to what’ he smiled. I’ve asked to see my records but the practice manager read from the computer, iv written complaining and told them and evry hospital doctor I’m being treated like a hypochondriac.

    Iv spent thousands of pounds trying to get well or a decent quality of life. Then someone told me to check out tvt on the internet I then saw Liz Reece article and now have an appointment with dr. Price though I don’t know if I will be able to have her remove it as it’s so costly for the travel and accommodation alone setting aside costs of surgery as I have to travel down to oxford.

    I’m about at the end of my tether and don’t know where to turn as it seems every doctor I see is in denial. I had a urologist tell me 2yrs ago he would put it down to a bleeding bladder as I pass black blood from time to time, I have lucosites in every urine sample no wants to know why.

    Thanks for a chance to air this as I have many more symptoms Lana

    Posted by Lana | June 8, 2014, 8:53 am
  2. Hi Lana

    Sorry to hear of all your problems which you wonder whether may be related to your TVT procedure many years ago. I am not a medical professional of course, and it sounds like you need to have proper investigations as to what is causing all your symptoms. TVT can cause many and varied health problems but there again, so can other things. However, as many women on this site have said, GPs and emergency departments often know very little about the effects of mesh.

    You have had your tape in 12 years so it is difficult to know what has caused all your problems and whether some, or all of them, are related. You should definitely seek answers to the symptoms you describe above.

    You have a right to have copies of your medical records but you may be charged for them.

    I hope your appointment with Natalia goes well. It is a long way to travel but at least she will be able to listen to you and then hopefully you can get some answers as to whether the TVT is involved. You won’t have to pay for surgery, if this is suggested, as you could be transferred onto the NHS waiting list.

    Posted by tvtinfo | June 8, 2014, 4:06 pm
  3. I like you Lana had the OP done in 2002 and four years later this OP came back to bite me . UTI after UTI for 2 years then to be told after going for an investigation found that I had TVT mesh erosion I have since had many operations to try and get this mesh out and still I have mesh left …. This OP has had a massive impact on my health I used to enjoy long walks in the countryside and loved the job that I did caring for other people . In 2008 something attacked my immune system and I am now left with arthritis and on biological drugs called Anti-TNF for the rest of my life not good….I believe firmly that mesh erosion was what attacked my immune system . I did try a number solicitors for advice in the last 2 years but all have said that my case is now time bared and that I’m unable to seek any form of compensation . I’m pleased that this OP is now making the news and people that have been left with long term health problems are being heard and listened to , not before time .

    Posted by cathleen | August 23, 2014, 9:15 pm
  4. Hi Cathleen

    Thanks for your comments. Sorry to hear of your many operations and problems after having the TVT mesh fitted – it has vey much affected your life by the sounds of it. Yes, I believe there is a statute of limitations of three years for pursuing a medical negligence case and ten years for product liability – but don’t take my word for it anyone thinking about pursuing a case, please ring and discuss with someone legally qualified. I do know, however, that sometimes they can ask for an extension to the time limit. It is definitely a good thing that this mesh surgery is starting to make the news, as you say, as women being offered this surgery will hopefully start to ask more questions and be more aware of problems that other people are experiencing as a result of having this surgery.

    Posted by tvtinfo | August 26, 2014, 9:35 pm
  5. hi I have heard there are legal firms who do take time barred cases, but from what I have heard you have up to 10 years on medical issues before it’s time barred. don’t know if possibly Marion Scott may be able to help clarify this info as she is very good. Im at present trying to contact my counclll
    or as NHS FIFE is basically saying I have to have the removal done in Fife or Scotland. However Dr. Natalia Price is willing to remove it by keyhole surgery in the John Radcliffe oxford on the NHS as I saw Dr. Price privately. and although it hasn’t yet pierced the vaginal wall she could clearly see it

    Posted by Larena Elliot | September 11, 2014, 3:53 pm
  6. Thanks for that information, Larena. Yes, it’s probably best to contact Marion Scott of the Sunday Mail, Scotland if you live in Scotland. Or speak to a legal firm who will be able to advise. If you want to join the forum and discuss with others, please email me.

    Posted by tvtinfo | September 11, 2014, 10:56 pm
  7. Can any give me a name of good surgeon that do a full tvt ans mesh removed in Northern Ireland ? Key hole ? ….. Fiona in pain

    Posted by Fiona | October 15, 2016, 7:28 am
  8. Hello Fiona. so sorry to read that you are in pain. As far as I am aware there are no surgeons in NI to remove mesh fully/ Do you know what device you have inside you – TVT – TVTo or TOT? When did you have it put in and at which hospital? What sort of help have you received to date:- a) from your implanting surgeon – b) from your GP? It is really important to know all these things. I know that some patients have travelled as far as the US and a few to England to have their implant removed. What other symptoms have you got? Sorry to ask all these questions. If you have time open up the tvt info page that says “The problem with TVT” On that page you will see that you are not alone in your suffering. Healing thoughts and blessings. Ingrid H. xx

    Posted by Ingrid Hardacre | October 15, 2016, 1:54 pm

Please give your comments below. (Leave a name but do not include your full name if you don't want it to appear in full..)

