You're reading a post...
News & Updates

Scotland’s Sunday Mail: Patients want summit with Health Secretary after mesh surgery complications

Following the article in last week’s Sunday Mail which reported on the debilitating complications suffered by a number of women following surgery using mesh implants, this week’s story reveals how the paper has been contacted by many more women experiencing complications.

The news story suggests the issue could be a potential scandal after scores of NHS patients contacted the paper last week saying they had suffered similar problems after operations using polypropylene mesh to treat pelvic organ prolapse or stress incontinence.

Alex Neil, Health Secretary for Scotland, has been urged to meet over 100 Scots women whose lives have been affected by synthetic mesh.  Shadow Health Minister Jackie Baillie said she was shocked at the numbers.  She has called for clear and decisive action from the Scottish Government.

Two Scottish law firms are reported to have received numerous enquiries regarding legal action for mesh complications.

Please click on link to read full story: http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/nhs-patients-want-summit-health-1794929

You can contact the paper if you have suffered similar problems – telephone 0141 309 3239 or email the journalist Marion Scott:   m.scott@sundaymail.co.uk

 

Discussion

11 thoughts on “Scotland’s Sunday Mail: Patients want summit with Health Secretary after mesh surgery complications

  1. This is all good news in the fight for justice. Let us hope sufferers in England are coming forward to show their strength of feelings and go to the national papers.

    Posted by Ingrid Hardacre | March 31, 2013, 12:24 pm
  2. Well done Scotland for listening. I hope we can do the same here in England as there are hundreds here that have suffered after having TVT implants.. My life has never been the same and I live in extreme pain everyday.
    Something must be done..

    Posted by Amanda L | March 31, 2013, 1:20 pm
  3. At last – the truth is coming through, thanks to the report last weekend. Now Scotland’s maimed women know that they are not ‘the only ones’ as they have been led to believe. Let’s hope that the tide is turning.

    Posted by Liz RH | March 31, 2013, 4:22 pm
  4. hi amanda just found this after searching for post tvt complications had mine a few yrs ago but had a vaginal erosion so they cut that bit out,previously have had pain in right abdo for a long time am a present off sick because they are unable to find the cause of this pain alarm bells are now ringing and feel i need to contact my gp again i do feel that my pain is a mystery to everyone but reading these comments i feel i maybe in this group.havent seen anything on search sites about welsh ladies with this problem.the pain is unbearable at times, i am losing work and sleep is difficult.if there is such a site in wales could you point me in that direction please

    Posted by kristina thomas | April 18, 2013, 10:17 am
  5. Hi Kristina, So sorry to hear of your problems – which so many of us suffer in similar way. I’m sure you have spent time on this site – it is the best way of gathering information which you must take to your GP as s/he will probably not understand what you are going through. My interview on Woman’s Hour which is also featured on this site, helped some GPs and partners understand the agony that mesh can cause.
    I have been supporting a woman from Wales with similar problems and she travelled to Oxford to see Natalia Price (who completely removed my mesh and many others’, safely and effectively). However, I’m afraid I am not aware of a site or support group in Wales. You might want to join one of the support groups listed on this site – I just don’t know where all the women live.
    Don’t take no for an answer: you may need to be referred to a consultant who really understands the problems with mesh, and there are very few that are willing to help, or they say you are ‘the only one’.

    Posted by Liz RH | April 20, 2013, 1:51 pm
  6. Hi

    I have joined a Facebook group called tvt no … So many women from all around the world on there describing their disabilities and their outcome after surgery.They post some very interesting articles on there too. Most are American ladies and a lot are in law suits right now with the manufacturers of these mesh devices. It’s great to hear that Scotland have managed to get people to listen but what about us here in England? Is there anyone trying to take this further? If so I would like to know how to get involved as I’m not happy just sitting back and taking this and I’m sure there are hundreds of others like me who feel the same.

    If any one knows of a lawyer who is dealing with any cases, I would be very interested to know.
    Thanks,
    In pain & angry
    Amanda L

    Posted by Amanda L | May 4, 2013, 8:11 am
  7. Hi Amanda
    Like you, I wish there was someone taking up this issue on our behalf in the rest of the UK. However, there are a number of us who are trying to raise awareness in various ways and we would welcome your input.
    The legal side is not so easy here in the UK and I know of women whose cases have been turned down despite clear evidence of harm.
    It might be best if you email me so we can maybe discuss above issues further – tvtinfo@yahoo.co.uk.

    Posted by tvtinfo | May 4, 2013, 4:07 pm
  8. Hi – my quality of life has, as all of those included in this article, been seriously compromised. The faulty mesh device has caused me chronic debilitating pain over the last year.

    The most important part of my life, my relationship with my partner has been affected beyond anything I could have imagined. When I try to explain the pain by saying ‘if you have something sharp digging into you on the outer part of your body you can pull it out but when the object is internal your body is traumatized by the shock and there is nothing you can do about it I was advised that it was ‘psychological’!

    I am due to have my third operation since 2012 on 7 November 2013 to remove further erosion. I live in Yorkshire and since searching the web for other sufferers I have had only your information available. I would be grateful if you know of anyone in my area I could contact.

    Kindest regards

    Cynth

    Posted by Cynthia O'Neill | November 3, 2013, 2:38 pm
  9. Hi Cynth
    So sorry to hear about your problems from the mesh implant. I will email you separately about possible support from other women. Meanwhile, if any other women following this blog wish to support Cynth, please could you let me know at tvtinfo@yahoo.co.uk.
    Thanks

    Posted by tvtinfo | November 4, 2013, 11:32 am
  10. Hello Cynth,

    That is just so awful – and I know exactly what you are referring to. I’m so sorry to gather that you are in such pain – does your partner understand? Has he read some of the posts on here? I spoke on Radio 4’s Woman’s Hour as I feel so strongly about mesh and its devastating effects – I gather that some partners found it helpful to hear that it wasn’t just their situation. You can still hear it at http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b019gy9r

    Erosion is just terrible yet I know that a number of surgeons rubbish it as minimal. My TVT crippled me from the moment it was inserted and I had nerve damage – it felt like barbed wire twisting inside. Like you, intimacy was impossible. I was lucky enough to have it fully removed a few months later but I am regularly contacted by women who are dealing with the most awful situations thanks to mesh.

    I do hope that your surgeon is good. Do read up more in the section on this site on surgical removal of mesh as many of us have posted there.
    Good luck on 7th, Liz

    Posted by Liz RH | November 4, 2013, 5:15 pm
  11. Hello Cynth

    I fully feel for you -the pain and suffering that you have to endure. Please be assured that your pain and trauma is not “psychological” ! We have all been there – being sent from pillar to post with our “very real pain” and other related problems arising from a foreign body mesh implant, which is not fit for purpose. There is lots of info on this blog website. Like Liz, I would say, I hope your surgeon is good and kind and knows his/her stuff. I presume you have had second opinions. Do you have access to hospitals in Sheffield? Have you added your voice to the petition site :http://www.tvt-messed-up-mesh.org.uk/petitions.html
    This is a petition which helps to raise awareness on how other mesh sufferers feel. the petition is the only way we can have a voice to say we are suffering and we are upset and we feel ignored. Keep your GP and Practice manager informed. tvt info has excellent information – use it to spread awareness. Without the effort of some key people who are mesh sufferers I would not have found the help that I needed which was to have my tape removed 7 Nov 11 by the same surgeon as Liz. Life is not how it was before the mesh insertion – we all know that! Don’t go away – keep pushing – all the way to the top!

    Kind regards and very best wishes on 7th November.
    Ingrid H.

    Posted by Ingrid Hardacre | November 5, 2013, 5:27 pm

Please give your comments below. (Leave a name but do not include your full name if you don't want it to appear in full..)

