You're reading a post...
News & Updates

Daily Mail: Scandal of women who STILL aren’t told risk of bladder operations

In this article printed in the Daily Mail on 4th September 2012, Teresa Hughes says having surgery to implant a TVT tape was one of the worst decisions she ever made.  The news story tells how Teresa Hughes, a 61-year-old mother of two, suffered terrible complications after undergoing TVT surgery to treat stress urinary incontinence, and is now facing a further four operations to repair the damage to her bladder and urinary tract.

The article says TVT can cause a range of health problems, and the number of women experiencing complications has now been shown to be higher than previously thought.  Figures from the Department of Health show that NHS hospitals in England recorded 2,659 removals of TVT and TOT mesh tapes between 2006 and 2011.

Dr Vincent Argent, gynaecologist and former member of NICE’s treatment guidelines review group, thinks that not enough is being done about the situation.  He argues that there should be a compulsory national register of all mesh insertion and removal operations and results, including patient satisfaction, cure rates and complications.

Criticisms have been directed at the Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency (MHRA), the government body that regulates the approval of medical devices in the UK.  In response, the MHRA has commissioned an investigation by experts from York University’s healthcare consortium, looking at reports of complications with the synthetic tape, and it claims they will publish their findings soon.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-2197850/The-scandal-women-STILL-arent-told-risks-bladder-operations.html#ixzz25StLMxkb

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Daily Mail: Scandal of women who STILL aren’t told risk of bladder operations

  1. I had a TVT fitted under epidural so was fully alert about 6 years ago.The operation did nothing to help but worsened the situation as now I have to wear urgency pads 24hours a day and it takes a long time to pass water as now it comes in 2 stages and not in 1 flow.
    But the biggest most serious problem was that my surgeon did not perform the procedure himself but was teaching 2 other doctors how to perform the TVT.The result was one of the doctors went off course as he was going around the bladder and the instrument he was using went through the bladder wall and perforated it.The lesion had to be repaired immediately.Unfortunately my bowel was also punctured and I have since had a cancer growth removed from my bowel in the same area that I have suffered the injury.So I would certainly agree this operation can be dangerous and also I have proof of incompetent doctors performing the surgery
    Barbara M

    Posted by Barbara M | September 4, 2012, 8:49 pm
  2. Hi Barbara

    So sorry to hear of your problems following your TVT. Thank you for sharing them on here. Your experience sounds horrendous and shows what can happen with this type of surgery – even if what happened to you is not common (???and that we don’t know), the outcome of the operation can be devastating for some. If you want to join a support site to communicate with other women who’ve experienced complications then click on the tab “Help and Support” for some details. I hope you are able to get some treatment for your problems – don’t give up.

    Posted by tvtinfo | September 4, 2012, 10:40 pm
  3. Hi Barbara
    A friend has just given me a copy of your newspaper article. Oh dear, I can totally understand as in agony myself.
    I had surgery in March this year and have been in excruciating pain ever since. 8week after first opp they re-operated as the sling was eroding through my vaginal wall. Immediately when I came round I knew they had not solved the problem as my pain was in two area’s and they had only done one. In July I had my third opp to remove part of the tape over my uthreea which was agony and had been from day one. It is now September and am still in agony! Not once did I receive a post opp appointment and all three times have had to phone myself and go back as an emergency. My Doctors don’t understand at all and the consultant keeps telling me this is extremely rare! I am now on high dose of antibiotics for a month and then back on the long term ones after. Can’t walk far as it so, so painful, can’t sit properly since day one, not worked for six months and still in pain. Before I had the first opp I was not told of any risks what so ever!!! Gosh sorry for waffling but I am so frustrated I hope there is an end to this somewhere and also hope that one day we will be pain free

    Posted by Jannette Winstone | September 10, 2012, 8:50 am
  4. Your TVT complications sound dreadful. To have been in excruciating pain since March is not right and you need to get proper treatment. Women experiencing these complications need to be followed up properly. It is hardly “extremely rare” when public figures show a 4.6 removal rate! I am not surprised you are so frustrated and you must keep on going and trying to get proper medical treatment from someone experienced in mesh complications. Please join a support group and talk to other women so that you can get help.

    Posted by tvtinfo | September 11, 2012, 7:17 pm

Please give your comments below. (Leave a name but do not include your full name if you don't want it to appear in full..)

