You're reading a post...
News & Updates

CTV News: Multimillion-dollar lawsuit over vaginal mesh

CTV News (17th April 2012) in Canada reports on a multimillion-dollar lawsuit filed by a group of women who claim their lives have been affected by a surgical mesh inserted in them to help treat urinary incontinence and pelvic organ prolapse.  Some are reporting severe complications from the treatment and say they were never fully warned of the risks.

Carol Kouyoumjian, one of the women involved in the suit, had a transvaginal mesh product inserted to try to prevent stress incontinence.  She says the mesh did not work, plus she developed chronic leg pain and lost her nursing job because she could no longer stand for more than a couple of hours at a time. 

The article states that in 2008 and again in 2010, the US Food and Drug Administration and Health Canada issued two warnings, about the risk of complications.

The law firm representing Canadian clients says the aim of the lawsuit is to prompt better warnings for women considering the mesh that reflect the magnitude of the risks and the failure rate so that doctors and patients can make informed decisions.

One of the defendants in the suit, Ethicon, a subsidiary of Johnson & Johnson, manufacturers of the mesh named in the suit, defended its actions claiming that evidence would show Ethicon acted appropriately and responsibly in the research, development and marketing of these products.

Read more: http://www.ctv.ca/CTVNews/Canada/20120417/transvaginal-mesh-women-lawsuit-incontinence-120417/#ixzz1vMUfS86x

Please read comments below and leave your comments.

Discussion

12 thoughts on “CTV News: Multimillion-dollar lawsuit over vaginal mesh

  1. Anyone affected by this awful implant owes it to themselves and others to fight through the courts for justice. These products should never be used in humans without proper trialling and fully informed consent.

    Posted by Anonymous | May 20, 2012, 11:50 am
  2. I quite agree. But this mesh still seems very popular with surgeons. Women should be made aware of the complications and the fact that there are lawsuits pending. I know of many women who did not receive adequate information about the risks. This will carry on happening unless the issue becomes more publicly discussed.

    Posted by tvtinfo | May 20, 2012, 12:32 pm
  3. This is good news and encouragement. Let us hope that someting similar will be happening in the U.K., as any anekdotal evedince and research rom abroad, according to Ombudsman directives, will not be able to be used in the U.K .

    Posted by Anonymous | May 20, 2012, 12:35 pm
  4. If surgeons in the UK know about lawsuits abroad then they have a duty to inform their patients that mesh is a controversial subject.

    I wouldn’t be surprised if we see a group action lawsuit in the news in the UK very soon!

    Posted by tvtinfo | May 20, 2012, 12:37 pm
  5. My sister is living a nightmare after having numerous complications from her tvt surgery in November of 2008. her mesh had a staph infection which resulted in the surgeon removing it. They did not get all of it so after months of daily iv antibiotic therapy they finally saw a fragment of mesh on an MRI and went in for aggressive surgery. More complications…too many to discuss here. Let’s just say that three and a half years later she is in so much pain daily that she cannot function. She is on numerous drugs and is suffering depression caused by this mess. At this point we are just trying to control the pain. Ironic that the heAlthcare system that got her into this mess is now letting her down she has been on the pain clinic wait list for over six months the family is now looking for somewhere in the USA to help her. Her three children need their mom back

    Posted by Jenifer Dalrymple | May 25, 2012, 4:12 am
  6. If anyone has any ideas on where to go to get my sister the proper care she needs that would be greatly appreciated:)

    Posted by Jenifer Dalrymple | May 25, 2012, 4:15 am
  7. I’m really sorry to hear about your sister, Jenifer. I’ve heard/read that expresssion quite a lot from women who are suffering the aftermath of TVT: “living a nightmare”.

    It sounds as though your sister’s had a terrible time and it seems unfair that she has to wait so long to get an appointment at the pain clinic. It’s not surprising that she has depression with all that pain.

    I really hope that your sister can get some help with her pain issues very soon and starts to make a recovery.

    Posted by tvtinfo | May 25, 2012, 5:53 am
  8. Do you need help with finding a pain clinic in Canada?

    Posted by tvtinfo | May 25, 2012, 5:58 am
  9. Jenifer
    If you go to the Canadian Facebook page for mesh sufferers there are lots of people who can give you help and advice on where to get help in Canada.
    http://www.facebook.com/tvmcanada or the Topix forum http://www.topix.com/forum/com/jnj/TTE0RAIRMP5EFC052/p159 (click “go to last page”)- there are lots of comments from mesh sufferers on there about doctors who can help with mesh complications.
    Hope that helps.

    Posted by tvtinfo | June 12, 2012, 2:00 pm
  10. My name is Louise & I did have this surgery but urinary incontinence was worst plus I developed stool incontinence in the process,I also have a lot of bladder infections. I also have groin, leg & hip pain.I’m supposed to have hip replacement surgery but I have to endure the excruciating pain because there’s a long waiting list.I use a cane and have pain killers to relieve the pain, but sometimes it’s not enough.As for intercourse, my husband died so I’m pretty sure that I won’t have relationships, because when I have PAP tests, it hurts a lot.I don’t go out a lot because of both incontinences and my hip.What a life.I had uterus Cancer & did’nt have to wear pads anymore but now I have to wear them all the time.I’m depressed because of their incompetence and my life is forever ruined.Please help me and all those women out there.They did the Crime so they should pay a lot for what they did to us.Thank you.My email does’nt work so you can call me at 1-613-679-2800 Or leave a message and your phone number.I’m from Ontario, Canada.

    Posted by Louise Groulx | October 17, 2013, 9:32 pm
  11. I see a lot of the post was in 2012 here there has been a lot going on since. J@J have lost a case stating there MESH was Defective seeing this has been proven.My question is why doesn’t the media jump all over this to let the public know. My wife has been through Hell and still is going through Hell she had the Infected Mesh put in with out knowing it was Infected in 2010 from Day One.As I understand as soon as the Mesh was put into my wife’s body it rejected it and shouldn’t have been on the market for human use as my wife had serious problems.Im going to cut a lot out as over four years and counting, a lot has happened my wife was told by her Canadian Urologist that he knew of no one in the world who could take the Mesh out he lied,he did a partial removal in 2012 this just took the pressure away not the pain he then said it wasn’t much Mesh left in my wife, he lied again as it was a lot of Mesh left inside of her and said it was to dangerous to do any other surgery.we looked up Dr Raz told her Urologist about him he seemed to know the address and all about him and he sent a referral to him as soon as Dr Raz got the referral he wanted my wife there right away for surgery.
    Thank God as we then went to UCLA to see a Dr Raz at the UCLA Medical Centre in the U. S. who removed the rest of the Mesh that was cutting into my wife’s urethra and he took out a lot of the remaining mesh on both sides way more than what her Canadian Urologist said what was left.Oh by the way the Canadian Urologist made it worse by doing the partial removal from the start as it was a very delicate extensive surgery for Dr Raz to do why didn’t the Canadian Dr tell my wife he knew of someone right from day one instead of lie ing to her. So now she has it out she still is in a lot of pain it’s only been a few weeks but in talking to my wife she knows her body better than anyone else and is already saying it isn’t to much difference in the pain as the damage has been done and is very doubtfully that things will return to normal ever again due to muscle spasms with extreme pain. By having this so called easy
    Mesh implant put in to stop urine incontinence which is causing lots of other symptoms of nerve damage don’t even get me started on the amount of pain medication she is taking on a daily basis this has caused people to live a life of misery including my wife myself and it’s effects other family members.Thanks Dean

    Posted by Dean | June 22, 2014, 5:15 pm
  12. Thanks for posting, Dean. You are right that a lot of my posts were in 2012 and a lot has been going on since then. I do find it difficult to report everything in a full post and so I tend to tweet them instead as I just don’t always have the time. I do follow the news around the world with regards to mesh. Tweets can be read via http://www.twitter.com/tvtinfo.

    I am so sorry to hear about the dreadful problems your wife has had since her mesh surgery and how she has now still got pain issues following removal. Still, it is still only a few weeks since her removal surgery so there may be some improvement. Everything will take time to heal. But if she is left with permanent pain and damage then that is very difficult to come to terms with, as many women visiting this site will tell you. I just hope that she does see some improvement in the next few weeks/months. It is dreadful what you as a family are going through. I don’t know what else to say except I really hope that your wife will see some improvement with time.

    What is the Canadian government doing about the issue?

    Posted by tvtinfo | June 22, 2014, 5:35 pm

Please give your comments below. (Leave a name but do not include your full name if you don't want it to appear in full..)

