You're reading a post...
Uncategorized

Worried about TVT tape?

I am setting up this blog to help women who are worried and need information following surgery to have the TVT (or other synthetic sub-urethral sling) implanted.

I also hope to provide advice and information to women considering having this surgery.

I’m hoping to post on a number of topics related to mesh surgery and complications, such as: getting help and support; mesh complications; mesh erosion; bladder emptying difficulties; mesh division and removal; reporting your complications etc.

I’m new to blogging so please bear with me – it may take me a while to get this site up and running..

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Worried about TVT tape?

  1. I had tvt mesh implant just over 5 weeks ago,I got a cancelationI ,had been seeing uro of on since 2005 ,was told I would be a new woman after this,was in excruciating pain during the opp so much so that when the metal hooks were pushed through the abdominal wall my body went into shock coz I felt them going through. My whole body shook my teeth chattered,they stopped I was covered with a hot blanket from my neck to my stomach,I felt I couldn’t move or speak but could open my eyes I moved my eyes what seemed like slow motion,I could hear I was told to breath deeply by a woman who got hold of my hand I tried to squeeze her hand to say stop I did as I was told and my body stopped shaking,at that point I did not want to go ahead with the op but was unable to speak.they continued pushing the hooks through my abdominal wall the PAIN my god the PAIN don’t know what happened after that the next thing I remember was the trolley moving that made me aware what was going on again.I was took into recovery where I came too.the surgeon that did the opp came to room to say the opp went well and I would be a new woman. I was speechless even though I could speak at this point,the audacity of these people,I was shocked and still am.i was then took to a pod,I was given food and drinks then told I needed to try for a wee,as soon as my feed touched the floor I had excruciating pain in my right side and the area where the hooks went through.I told the nurse and was given more pain killers which did not touch the pain.her only concern was me getting a wee. I managed that in agony only to find out that half of the wee was left inside of me,time was ticking I was the last patent there they wanted to shut shop.i could barely stand and all the nurse was interested in was to teach me how to self catheterise.I had to put one foot on the chair one hand holding a mirror while my other hand put a catheter in whilst covered in blood. I couldn’t do it I said my husband would do it for me I needed to get out of there I was cracking up,she marched me to the main doors I couldn’t keep up with her she kept looking back holding the doors I could only do dolly steps then of she went leaving me outside the main doors I saw my husband walking towards me I collapsed in his arms begged him to take me home.Since then bladder emptying,wee stream slow stop start,uti,3 lots antibiotics ,period like cramp all the time,random stabbing insides the Virginia,feeling sick most the time,of food can only eat little bits can’t bare my stomach to be full,stomach looks like 6 months pregnant,sweat,temp running up to 39,never away from gp,he sent me back to gyne who offered to take out the middle of the tape basically because that’s all he’s qualified to do,I asked for a second opinion. I was refuted to a uro who basically told me to go away and give it a chance,come back in 6 months if things haven’t settled men time take tablets and antibiotics ,I am so scared I’ve started to read all about tvt mesh on the Internet ,erosion and the damage this tape can do and the economical truths the medical profession give us. I desperately need someone to talk to,I’m having panic attacks now and driving my husband up the wall bless him he’s survived kidney cancer and been to hell and back for years, sorry this is so long needed to get some of it out my head. Does any one know how much it will cost to go private to get this bomb out of me and where to go,I’ll debt it if I have to.

    Posted by Denise | August 25, 2013, 6:41 pm
  2. Denise, this describes an experience worse than the worst nightmare. I knew that the TVT op is sometimes put in under local anaesthetic but to be in your situation just beggars belief (mine was at least done under general anaesthetic – that’s the only good thing I can say about my procedure). You poor woman. Yes – there are many of us who have found that we have been lied to.a

    I insisted on a second opinion when it was immediately apparent that things were damaging me, I went through the Patient Advice Liaison people who are in all English hospitals – not all UK though. I kept up a steady stream of insistent, polite, complaint which was graphic for the PALs women and turned it into ‘what would you do if you were me?’ to encourage speed. I was lucky – my second opinion came from one of the few ‘aware” urogynaecologists who both felt the tape and listened, and then took action. You will see Natalia Price mentioned many times on this site as she has ‘rescued’ about 40 women from TVT misery. She and Suzy Elneil seem to be the only UK surgeons who can help but I don’t know what it would cost privately. many women get referred by their GP without paying so you should start there, although to speed up the process, they pay for the initial consultation – £200 or so – and then go on the NHS waiting list for removal.

    Look up Oxford Gynaecology and you will find contact details if you want to see Natalia privately initially. Others who write on this forum can tell you how to get onto Suzy Elneil’s list – she is in London.

    I do feel for you and for your husband. It’s a crime what is being done to us.

    Liz

    Posted by Liz RH | August 25, 2013, 8:22 pm
  3. Denise, so sorry to hear of your dreadful experience with mesh surgery.

    Sadly, I have heard of women who have suffered very strong pain reactions very soon after TVT surgery.

    Posted by tvtinfo | August 29, 2013, 9:03 pm
  4. Liz, thanks for your input.
    tvtinfo

    Posted by tvtinfo | August 29, 2013, 9:05 pm
  5. OMG I don’t believe that this was done to you it’s hard enough waking up after the surgery but to even think about someone going through this makes me cringe. I too am having real bad pain, my tvt tape perforated through my cervic’s twice and I ended up with a complete hysterectomy now I am going through a surgical menopause an am suffering extreme pain, pins and needles down my legs dizziness, no immune system and the feeling that I am going mad. I am trying to cope but not doing so well at it. My little girl needs me as she has special needs so I need to get help ASAP can anyone advise me. God Bless.Merry Christmas to you all

    Posted by Lynne | December 8, 2013, 11:06 pm

Please give your comments below. (Leave a name but do not include your full name if you don't want it to appear in full..)

